Stages of social emotional development Erikson : Social Development

Stages of social emotional development Erikson

Ericksons Psychosocial IdentitiesHow do we develop an identity, or a sense of self? Psychologists have many theories. One, named Erik Erikson, believed that we work on constructing psychosocial identities throughout our whole lives. By 'psychosocial, ' he meant an interplay between our inner, emotional lives (psycho), and our outer, social circumstances (social). Erikson believed that as we grow and age, we pass through eight distinct stages of development. He thought that each stage was defined by a specific conflict between a pair of opposing impulses or behaviors. The resolution (or inability to resolve) these conflicts affects our personalities and identities.

Psychosocial refers to an interplay between our emotional lives and our social circumstances

Erikson defines four childhood stages and three adult stages, bridged together by one stage of adolescence. We'll go through each stage and define it by its central conflict, as well we give some examples of behaviors and patterns of thinking characteristic of the stage.

The first is the oral-sensory stage, encompassing the first year of life and defined by a conflict between trust and mistrust. Infants during this time learn to trust their parents if they're reliably cared for and fed; if not, if they're neglected or abused, they'll develop mistrust instead. Infants at this stage either learn that they can trust others to fulfill their needs, or that they can't, that the world is a dangerous and unreliable place.

The second stage is called muscular-anal and defined by the conflict between autonomy and shame and doubt. Parents who allow their toddlers, between the ages of about 1-3, to explore their surroundings and develop interests of their own help to foster a sense of autonomy. But parents who are too restrictive or cautious with their children can instead leave them with doubt about their abilities. Like learning mistrust instead of trust, this can have longstanding consequences. A related conflict between and guilt defines the next stage, the locomotor stage. Children in this stage, between the ages of three and six, need to develop initiative, or independent decision-making, about planning and doing various activities. If they are not encouraged to do this, or if their efforts are dismissed, they may learn to feel guilt instead about their desire for independence.

Adolescents are primarily concerned with finding a personal identity

You might also like

Sounds like she's emotionally handicapped ...

by karmadas

I've read the list you provided - instances where your gf got jealous. When I interact with someone that has an upset or a problem, I ask them about two things in particular: what is their perception of the problem and, what are their strategies and solutions to resolve the problem.
From what you describe, she perceives that she has a problem with jealousy. Her strategy to resolve her problem involves you making changes in your behaviour so that she doesn't feel emotions that makes her uncomfortable.
The fact that she wants you to made adjustments to accomidate her distress reflects an immaturity and a lack of understanding on her part

Nonprofit: Mental health center offers children's camps  — The Missoulian
Camps are structured with activities for small groups and focused on social and emotional development. Activities will be provided in the new Full Circle facilities at 2921 W. Broadway. Slots will fill quickly.

Continuum Developing Everyday Coping Skills in the Early Years: Proactive Strategies for Supporting Social and Emotional Development
Book (Continuum)